House Republicans Commemorate State Police

House Republican Leader Jim Durkin (R-Western Springs) and a group of Illinois House Republicans presented House Resolution 58 to a group of state police officers, recognizing the 95th anniversary of the Illinois State Police Department.

The Illinois State Police Department was formed on April 1, 1922 under the direction of Superintendent John T. Stack; its motto is, Integrity, Service and Pride.

Today, the Illinois State Police has 21 patrol districts, seven investigative zones, six operational forensic science laboratories, and five regional crime scene services commands under the helm of Director Leo P. Schmitz.

As of 2017, more than 60 state troopers have paid the ultimate sacrifice by giving their lives in service to the state and its citizens. The Illinois State Police Heritage Foundations Memorial Park will soon be constructed in downtown Springfield.

We recognize the Illinois State Police Department on its 95th anniversary and thank them for their service, and wish them many more successful years, Durkin said.

Brian Stewart

Want to stay up to date with your Senator?

Sign up for the District E-Newsletter below: